Image

Polaris Review – Purity Ring

As promised, it’s the countdown to the Polaris Prize Award ceremony, so I will be reviewing all ten nominees and their associated album. Below you’ll find my review, a rating (yes some of them will be expressions), my track on repeat, what made me love the album and something outstanding you need to check out.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Artist: Purity Ring
Album: Shrines

Purity Ring is a band originally based out of Edmonton, AB which was formed in 2010. The band consists of Megan James (vocals) and Corin Roddick (instrumentals). Purity Ring released “Shrines” in July 2012.

Now that we’ve covered some background, let’s get to the meat of why you are here, let’s talk album review. I have to admit that for a long time I wasn’t a fan of electronic music, and I will attribute my conversion to the band Austra, and their 2011 Polaris Prize nominated album “Feel it break”. If that hadn’t have happened, I probably wouldn’t have fallen in love with this album in the first 30 seconds of the opening track “Crawlersout”.

This album is dark, and by dark I mean lyrically, but its counter balanced with a light, almost ethereal sound backing it on some tracks. Other tracks, like Grandloves, have a more R&B swagger, and it’s sexy… like dead sexy. But even with the change of feel as you make your way through the 11 tracks that make up “Shrines”, none feel out of place. Choosing a weak song is almost impossible.

Now I understand that this album will not appeal to everyone, but for me, definitely deserves to be on this list.

Rating: awesome.

On repeat: Fireshrine

Track that won me over : Crawlersout

What to check out: Grammy (Soulja Boy cover)

Leave a Reply

