Recipe Thursdays

So in an effort to continue my daily blog posts, I’ve decided that Thursdays will be Recipe Thursday! I will break down something delicious that I have made this week, and share how you can replicate it! This week I have already shared my muffin recipe but luckily this week you’re getting a double dose!

Now I feel like I should give you a little back story on me here. At present, I live with 3 guys. 3 guys who are hungry and like to eat. So sometimes when I cook, I feel like I am cooking for a family of 4.. well sometimes up to 8 depending on who decides to comes over.

Luckily for me, this weeks dinner was only for 4. So I decided to through together a Chicken Carbonara Recipe! I have to say, I thought this recipe was going to be a lot more work. I googled a lot of recipes and checked with what I had on hand, and combined them all to come up with the below. (I got 3 people telling me it was delicious, and sharing means caring so)

What you will need :

1 lb of pasta of your choice (I used a mix of spaghetti and fettuccine because thats what I had on hand)
Chicken breast or chicken thighs (generally 1 breast per person)
5-6 strips of bacon (BACON!!) sliced into small pieces
1 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic
4 eggs
1 cup of milk
3/4 cup of Parmesan Cheese (Kraft will do, but you can use fresh)
Salt and pepper

I took this recipe in stages, because I felt it was easier to manage. First cook your chicken in a frying pan until its cooked through (no pink here!) and put aside.

In a separate bowl, mix your eggs, cheese, milk and salt and pepper together and put aside.

Using the same frying pan (less dishes!! win!) throw in your onions and your bacon (BACON!) into the frying pan to crisp up the bacon. At this time its probably best to throw your pasta into a pot of boiling water. Once the bacon is almost crisp, throw in your garlic.

Now here is the fun part. Drain a bit of the bacon grease from the frying pan and add your cooked chicken. Once the pasta is done, drain but DONT RINSE (this is very important) and add into the frying pan with the meat/garlic/onion deliciousness.

Pour the egg mixture over your pasta in the frying pan, mix and voila! *NOTE* the heat from the pasta is enough to thicken your sauce. At this stage, your hard work has paid off and you can eat!

image

Now this may not be the best picture (I am going to get better over the next 6 months, I swear) but trust me.. this dish is worth the work (I know, it sounds like a lot but one step at a time and you’ll do great)

Stayed tuned tomorrow for Music Review Friday! (I am really going to have to come up with a better name for that)

Leave a Reply

